Milford Musicians Selected for Honor Band in Record Numbers!

Posted on: December 15, 2015
Tags: Milford high school band, Milford junior high band
Milford's music program continues to receive statewide accolades. A total of 32 Milford High School students have been selected to participate in the OMEA District 14 honor band in January. Milford also has 22 junior high students that have been selected for the OMEA's Junior High Honor Band. District 14 includes all of the schools in Hamilton County and Clermont County. 

"This is by far the largest number of students from any of the schools participating. This is a fantastic accomplishment for our students! The program just keeps getting stronger," said Brian Brown, MHS Band Director.
Students will participate in the District 14 Honor Band Festival to be held January 8-10, 2016, at Princeton High School.  The Junior High Honor Band will perform for the public at 5 p.m. on Sunday, January 10, and the High School Honor Band at 3 p.m. at the Princeton High School Viking Village.

MHS Band-First Row L-R:  Megan Jofriet, Eric Hughett, Mathew Allen, Bradford Mullins, Sarah Wingo, AJ Erdaty, Chloe Elleman, Claudia Hoerr. Second Row: Jake Jaeger, Eric Morris, Brian alarcon, Clare Cartheuser, Kelsey Brown, Sarah Causby, Bethany Fernandez, Amelia Pittman, Brennan Dodds, Myriam Wane. Third Row: Madison Maynard, Erika House, Allison Abas, Conner Smith, John Keman, Hunter Hoffman, Chancellor Pullins, Martin Vo, Sarah Hudson, Elizabeth Miller, Kim Hudson, Catherine Gottsacker
Not Pictured: Thomas Angel, Moriah Slaughter
Milford Junior High musicians will also be participating in the OMEA honor band as well as an area wind ensemble. The following MJHS students were recently selected by audition to participate in the Junior Cincinnati Youth Wind Ensemble. They are: 8th graders-Olivia Bailey (clarinet), Isaiah Hickman (bassoon), Alexis Tipkemper-Sparks (trumpet), Madison Williams (trumpet) and Sarah Maimone (french horn). 7th graders-Alli Mendez (clarinet), Taylor Horman (clarinet) and Christian Haghverdi (bassoon). The group rehearses at UC every Sunday and will perform 3 times this school year, including at the Ohio Music Education Association's Annual Conference in January. 
Photo CYWE: L to R- Alli Mendez, Olivia Bailey, Madison Williams, Alexis Tipkemper-Sparks, Taylor Horman, Isaiah Hickman. Not pictured: Sarah Maimone and Christian Haghverdi
District 14 MJHS 8th grade honor band:
Front row L-R: Samantha Lemar, Jonah Fouts, Andrew Richmond, Isaiah Hickman
Back row L-R: Ian Bruns, Jillian Mack, Austin Vo, Dustin Pigg, Ahja Jones. Not pictured: Sarah Maimone, Jackson Isenhower, and Kyle Young
District 14 MJHS 7th grade honor band: 
L-R Spenser Hore, Erin Morgan, Alex Daniels, Lydia Moore, Franklin Abt, Shreya Terala, Laynie Metsker. Not pictured: Alex Troescher, Christian Haghverdi, Connor Hawkins